TargetShooting Canada

Re: Response to Government Handgun Ban Rhetoric

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Targetshooting Canada Discussion Board ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by kardar (24.150.235.57) on September 13, 2008 at 09:42:43:

In Reply to: Re: Response to Government Handgun Ban Rhetoric posted by Paul on September 13, 2008 at 07:00:50:

Hello Paul

I am requesting you to apply for a firearms license for both restricted & non restricted firearms. I beleive after that process is over you will have a pretty good idea of what legitimate firearms owners are up against.

For example you said ": I'm relatively new to Canada as I only arrived in 2000, but I have noticed that guns and especially hand guns are a part of the Canadian way of life."

You are wrong, you are thinking about certain states in USA, where people carry handguns around their waist all day along. Not the cse in Canada. You cannot own a handgun for any other reason except Targetshooting or Collection.

"I'm from the UK where the only places that you will see firearms carried openly are international airports and organised, rural events. Even the cops don't carry side arms openly. This does not mean that they are any less of an issue over there, but I think that there is more respect for firearms and a higher expectation from their owners and users."

I know there has been a ban on firearms in UK for a long time now, HAS IT HELPED IN LOWERING THE CRIME RATE or EVEN THE CRIMES COMMITED USING FIREARMS?

": Now I don't know the full history behind the new bye laws or restrictions ect, but I can say as a member of the public and an outsider (I do not own a gun yet) I see the official response to the gun crimes as completely justified."

You also mentioned that closing a Gun club is not the correct thing to do and then two paragraphs later you agree with what the government does?