TargetShooting Canada

Re: Response to Government Handgun Ban Rhetoric

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Targetshooting Canada Discussion Board ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Paul (99.238.235.36) on September 13, 2008 at 07:00:50:

In Reply to: Re: Response to Government Handgun Ban Rhetoric posted by Don Williams on September 11, 2008 at 10:33:29:

Firstly, may I applaud the effort and conviction behind your stand Patrick.

I'm relatively new to Canada as I only arrived in 2000, but I have noticed that guns and especially hand guns are a part of the Canadian way of life. I'm from the UK where the only places that you will see firearms carried openly are international airports and organised, rural events. Even the cops don't carry side arms openly. This does not mean that they are any less of an issue over there, but I think that there is more respect for firearms and a higher expectation from their owners and users.

I do not believe that closing any facility that promotes sport and fair play is good for any community, especially in a metropolitan areas where the catchment areas involve a lot of people. The issue here is not so much that shooting clubs have been shut down, it is that recreational facilities have been denied to those that were using them.

I've no doubt at all that the closed clubs were operated in a professional and ethical manner and promoted the safe, responible use of firearms. So why were they closed? Has anyone challenged the justification for decisions that led to these closures?

My point is that governments make decisions based on the impact that the outcome will have on the majority. The key word here is MAJORITY. At a time when gun related killings in the Toronto area are getting out of hand, there is pressure to solve a percieved problem with gun control. Their solution was to reduce the use of guns comprehensively.